Here’s a look at a story I wrote for The Bold Italic about the curly headed folks in SF that are rocking their dos and sharing how they came to love their looks.

 

Twenty-ten was the year of very bad, horrible, no-good haircuts for me. There were four of them, each more tragic than the last. You see, I’m a curly girl, and mistakes with my locks aren’t easily hidden. I’ve watched my request for “fun layers” turn Krusty the Clown in two swift and ill-advised snips.

Two years later, I knew I had no choice but to get back in the ring. But this time I was going to be prepared. Along with asking all of my friends with ringlets whom they trusted with their ’dos, I stopped wavy-haired people on the street, begging for a little curl counsel. My inquiries elicited intimate and animated stories; all of us have war stories under our belts. I was struck by how many little tricks these ladies and gents had to handle their unique varieties of curl.

I’m happy to say my investigation led to an awesome haircut by Becky Hallisey at Edo Salon. But while my search is over, I’d hate for all that useful info I gathered to go to waste. Here are eight of SF’s kinky creatures and the stylists who keep their curls looking killer. It’s no surprise that a majority of the folks I chatted with have their kink cared for at Madusalon, as it specializes in curly locks of all kinds.

Click here to read the complete story.

